Port & dock workers may launch nationwide strike against corporatisation of Major Ports

April 21, 2015 10:45 am Published by

The working committee of the Indian National Port & Dock Workers’ Federation (INTUC), in a recently-held meeting at Chennai Port, has decided to examine and finalise the strategy to oppose the proposal to corporatise Major Ports by the Ministry of Shipping under the Companies Act.

In a statement, Mr Mohan K. Aswani, Additional General Secretary and President of the Kandla Port Karmachari Sangh, said that they also discussed the issue of the submission of non-implementation of wage settlement clauses.

The meeting of the National Executive Committee of federation was held under the leadership of Mr Prabhat Kumar Samantray, President and a former Member of Parliament, and Mr G. Kalan, General Secretary of the federation and also a former MLA.

The meeting was also attended by Presidents and General Secretaries of all the unions of Major Ports in which the present situation at the respective Ports was discussed. The non-implementation of issues would be put forward in the high power committee formed by the Ministry of Shipping, the statement said.

The Union leaders discussed various issues such as the non-implementation of wage settlement clauses, consolidation of pension and grant of pension under CCS Pension Rules of the Central government. These issues had been settled in the wage settlements of 2010 and 2013.

One of the major issues at the meeting was the proposal to corporatise 11 Major Ports, including Kandla, JNPT, Paradip, Tuticorin and Visakhapatnam under the Companies Act as these gateway facilities were making considerable profits.

The working committee has also unanimously adopted the resolution that if the Ministry of Shipping was forcing for corporatisation of Major Ports, then the five major federations would jointly organise an agitation and, if needed, they would call for a nationwide strike.

Labour representatives from the Jawaharlal Nehru Port, New Mangalore Port, VOC Port, Paradip Port, Kolkata Port, Visakhapatnam Port, Mormugao Port, Cochin Port and Chennai Port also participated, Mr Aswani said in the statement.

Categorised in:

This post was written by Atlantic Admin